Excellence is rewarded- Juris Doctor- Full Scholarship Awardee

“If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” James 1:5

Nine years ago, I started my journey in law school. I took the entrance examination in my dream school but didn’t pass. I took the MBA-JD program of DLSU-FEU and I made it. Only to find out that MBA was easier.

I’ve been a working student since college years and I thought the journey would be the same. Yes, it was, in many aspects, only tougher and more challenging. Things weren’t sustainable then, hence, I expedited my MBA and finished it in 2014. Many assumed that I finished my Juris Doctor, too but I haven’t yet. I didn’t regret that I had a detour thereafter. I danced socially, competitively and professionally wherein I felt so much alive, engaged and passionate.

Years had passed and my dream to be a lawyer was still haunting me. Thus, I decided to go back to law school. I’ve qualified for a merit-based scholarship and I’m just really the ‘happiest’. My heart is full of joy and gratefulness. I feel stronger, wiser and empowered. God moves in an amazingly mysterious way. Sometimes, He wants us to optimize what’s in our hand and use it for His glory. 2 Corinthians 2:16

The process may have been tough, but God is my best ally in this journey. He is the great provider of wisdom, provision, and guidance. I’m just so grateful how God provides for all our needs. And when He put a dream in your heart, He will provide for everything in order for you to successfully finish it.

Paolo Choelo said it best, “when a person really desires to follow his/her Personal Legend all the universe conspires to help that person to realize his/her dream”. If I would literally be paying for my tuition, miscellaneous, stipend and book allowances, I would be needing approximately Php2M for my entire law school journey.

My parents didn’t invest in my #BrighterLife Funds when I was young. If they did, ideally by now I could have just easily withdrawn from the reserved educational fund but there’s none. Thus, I have to work hard for it. I remember someone said, “Much has been given and much will be required from you.” I know indeed that much is required on this journey but I have peace that He has been with me all along.

I hope that by writing this story which I am willingly sharing to the world, there is at least one soul who will be inspired to follow his/her Personal Legend. Remember that life is generous to those people who follow their pursuits. The world may seem to be a threatening place at times but choose to see the beauty in it. And if you are living your dream, you have everything in you that you need. Follow the path laid out for you and excellence will be at hand.

We are on this journey Daddy God! Thank you! I feel so loved.

Leave a comment